Queer Friendly Staff Network

There are a group of staff who have undertaken an intensive training programme with OUSA Queer Support in order to increase their knowledge of the queer community. They have then been interviewed individually to ensure they are in fact queer friendly before they are admitted to the Queer Friendly Staff Network. These staff members can be great to talk to if you are having issues around inappropriate behaviour within your department or can also be a friendly person to talk to about anything. Check down below to see who has been trained within your department and if you can’t find anyone there then you may want to ask your departmental head to get their staff some training!

Department Name Email
Abbey College John Seaton john.seaton@otago.ac.nz
Anatomy Ellie Stevens ellie.stevens@otago.ac.nz
Anatomy Rachel Lissaman rachel.lissaman@otago.ac.nz
Arana College Jude Loza jude.loza@otago.ac.nz
Biochemistry Wayne Patrick wayne.patrick@otago.ac.nz
Biochemistry Teena Joyce teena.joyce@otago.ac.nz
Career Development Yvonne Gaut yvonne.gaut@otago.ac.nz
Career Development Jackie Dean jackie.dean@otago.ac.nz
Chaplaincy Greg Hughson greg.hughson@otago.ac.nz
Chaplaincy Mike Wright chaplain@op.ac.nz
Childcare Association Jenny Davy davje124@gmail.com
College of Education Karen Nairn karen.nairn@otago.ac.nz
College of Education Steven Sexton steven.sexton@otago.ac.nz
Faculty of Law Selene Mize selene.mize@otago.ac.nz
Faculty of Law Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere marcelo.rodriguez.ferrere@otago.ac.nz
Faculty of Law Ruth Ballantyne ruth.ballantyne@otago.ac.nz
Faculty of Medicine Amara Boyd amara.boyd@otago.ac.nz
Film and Media Paulette Milnes paulette.milnes@otago.ac.nz
Film and Media Dr Rosemary Overall rosemary.overell@otago.ac.nz
Genetics Elaine Emmerson elaine.emmerson@otago.ac.nz
Graduate Research School Claire Gallop claire.gallop@otago.ac.nz
Head of Marine Science Abby Smith abby.smith@otago.ac.nz
Human Resources Julie Dlaskova julie.dlaskova@otago.ac.nz
International Office Claire Slocombe claire.slocombe@otago.ac.nz
ITS Paul Bennington paul.bennington@otago.ac.nz
ITS Administration Gail Arthur gail.arthur@otago.ac.nz
ITS Customer Services Leigh Bateup leigh.bateup@otago.ac.nz
ITS Teaching and Learning Emerson Pratt emerson.pratt@otago.ac.nz
ITS Teaching and Learning Annemaree Senior annemaree.senior@otago.ac.nz
Law Faculty Valmai Bilsborough-York valmai.bilsborough-york@otago.ac.nz
Liason Librarian Charlotte Brown charlotte.brown@otago.ac.nz
Library - Robertson Alexander Ritchie alexander.ritchie@otago.ac.nz
Library - Central Charlotte Brown charlotte.brown@otago.ac.nz
Medical School Jane Millichamp jane.millichamp@otago.ac.nz
Medical School Leslie Turner leslie.turner@otago.ac.nz
Music Ian Chapman ian.chapman@otago.ac.nz
Otago Polytechnic Naell Crosby-Roe Naell.Crosby-Roe@op.ac.nz
Otago Polytechnic- Student AdvisorĀ  Kerrie Wilson Kerrie.Wilson@op.ac.nz
OUSA Tom Tremewan tom@r1.co.nz
OUSA Donna Jones donna@ousa.org.nz
Pacific Island Centre Sharon Baker sharon.baker@otago.ac.nz
Preventative and Social Medicine Josie Athens josie.athens@otago.ac.nz
Preventative and Social Medicine Matt Foster matt.foster@otago.ac.nz
Psychology Gareth Treharne gtreharne@psy.otago.ac.nz
Psychology Maria Polak mariapolak@psy.otago.ac.nz
Student Health- Counselling Jaimee Corbishley (on maternity leave until end of 2017) jaimee.corbishley@otago.ac.nz
Student Health- Counselling Mary Paul mary.paul@otago.ac.nz
Student Health- Psychiatry Jubilee Rajiah jubilee.rajiah@otago.ac.nz
Student Health- Nursing Libby Reid libby.reid@otago.ac.nz
School of Surveying Marg Newall marg.newall@otago.ac.nz
Sciences Mark Wilesmith mark.wilesmith@otago.ac.nz
Toroa College Christina Watson-Mills christina.mills@otago.ac.nz
Toroa College Stewart Noguer Blue stewart.noguerblue@otago.ac.nz

 

'Queer' is a term used to describe the many variations of sexual attraction and sex/gender identity, including intersex, transgender, transsexual, genderqueer, asexual, fa'afafine, takatapui, lesbian, bisexual and gay. Although it may not be the preferred term for everyone, it is used to challenge binary representations of sexuality, sex, and gender.